September 23, 2005. Friday.

My alarm clock went off at 6:30 a.m. Naalimpungatan ako. I turned to my right and reached for the snooze button with my left hand. As I did, I fell off from the bed. Yeah, it’s as funny as it sounds. My first reaction was to get mad at H. He always hogs the bed. He’s always at the middle. Nasisiksik ako sa dulo. I’m always at the edge of the bed. He doesn’t put his legs around me anymore. But years ago, he would do that. I told him that I didn’t like it because my muscles would ache the next morning. He is, after all, a lot heavier that me.

So back to this morning…

Me: Will you please move over there to your side of the bed? You’re always pushing me to the edge.

He did. And I went back to bed to sleep some more.

I thought about my fall and I suppressed my laughter. I was mad and I didn’t want him to make fun of me.

And what a coincidence that the episode of Malcolm in the Middle that night was about Lois buying a new king size bed. Hal became suspicious that Lois wanted more distance between them. That’s why she bought a bigger bed. Of course, Lois defended herself and said that she only did so because their old one was old, saggy and smelled.

I have also complained to H about our old creaky bed. I have also wanted a new bed. I would go ahead and buy a new one, but more important expenses always come up.

Back to Lois and Hal …

On their first night on the new bed, Hal had her legs around Lois. She slowly freed herself and went to her side. Hal woke up and said, “I knew it. You wanted the distance.” Then he stormed out of the bedroom and slept on the couch.

The next day, Lois explained to Hal that she just wanted more room so she could flail her arms around and that there are things that her body does (like fart) and she doesn’t want close proximity to anybody when that happens. But she’s always left straining herself.

Same with me. I move as far away from H on days that I don’t want to be touched. And that’s why I also want a bigger bed. I want my space, too. Sometimes, I lie there stiff like a log because the slightest touch of our skins could be misinterpreted as wanting some loving. And that is not the case with me – most of the time. Especially when I’m pissed off at him.

