November 19, 2005. Saturday.

Today is Lady Red’s (my friend) Retirement Dinner and Dance Party.

I was surprised and kind of annoyed when H decided to come on the last minute. Just this Thursday, I asked him if he was coming and of course at first his answer was “Bahala na.” And it ticked me off. Just give me a yes or no answer. And then he said, “Okay, then NO.” Fine. He doesn’t usually go with me to my friends’ gatherings anyway. And I’m actually already so used to him not going that I like it better if it’s just me and/or the kids also came with me without him.

And then I had a “monologue” about our failing relationship. I said monologue because it was like talking to a wall. Well, anyway, I think he changed his mind after talking to Purplegirl. She probably told him, “Sumama ka na para may kausap si (asawa niya).” Kaya ayun sumama naman. I told him before we left, “Huwag mo akong bubulungan duon ng kung anu-anong masama at baka mabuwisit ako sa iyo.”

I asked Mama if she could give us a ride. I also invited her to the party because she knows my friend who’s retiring. But she didn’t want to. She just dropped us off there and left after.

When we got to the Community Club where this party was being held, the tables were already arranged and decorated. Red and white motif. Very nice and elegant looking. None of my friends were in sight. Lady Red asked them to come early to help her step-daughter who is also the party planner. Two of Lady Red’s cousins were also there helping. And the DJ was also already there.

Purplegirl, her husband, and Fair Lady came at around 5:00 pm. Then few guests started arriving. My 15-year old son’s band members also started arriving. The band was supposed to play at 6:00 pm while people are eating. But at 6:00 pm, there were only a few people. I suggested to Lady Red, “Why don’t you let the boys eat first before they play. Because some of them can’t stay past 7:30. They have other plans.” So she let them eat first. My son said that his friends liked the food. Which was good. At least nakabawi sila sa pagkain dahil binarat sila ni Lady Red, paying them only $100.00. $20 each, except for my son who gets nothing because there are six of them. But I promised him that I’d give him the $20 myself. So they started playing at 6:30 even though not everybody was there yet. They prepared an hour long performance. My friends liked the piece, “The Way You Look Tonight” and requested for an encore of that song.

Panay ang patawa ni H kay Purplegirl and Fair Lady who were both sitting across the table from me. Hindi naman nakakatawa sa akin. It’s an old act. When I first met him, yun and una kong nagustuhan sa kanya. Yung pagiging kenkoy niya. Pero hindi na ako natatawa ngayon. Patawa siya nang patawa dun sa dalawa. Mas marami pa siyang sinabi sa kanila nung gabing iyon kaysa sa sinabi niya sa akin sa buong linggo.

Nuong sayawan na, nahila ako nung mga babaeng sumayaw nung tinugtog yung YMCA by the Village People at saka yung iba pa ring tugtog. When I was already sitting down and just watching the girls dance, I was surprised when my 15-year old son got up and joined the circle while a Michael Jackson song was playing. Na-enganyo siguro nung makitang nag-mu-”Moonwalk” si Kuya Boy. I also joined them at pilit kong hinila si Bunso. Then later on, I saw my 15-year old dancing with Ate Ces. Mukhang nag-enjoy naman ang loko.

We left at around 11:00 pm. I asked Purplegirl to also call a cab for us. One for them and one for us. Nung palabas na kami, sabi ko kay H duon na siya sa labas at abangan yung taxi. Malamig kasi para sa mga batang maghintay sa labas dahil siyempre winter. Nung una ayaw niya. Nainis ako at sabi ko, “Ako na nga. Lagi na lang ako.” Tapos naglabasan din silang lahat nung lumabas ako kahit sinabi ko sa mga batang pumasok muna sila. Napipikon na talaga ako kay H.

Then nung tinanong ni MissEm kung saan kami sasakay, sabi ko mag-ta-taxi kami. Then she had this look on her face na para bang nakakabigla na mag-ta-taxi kami. She knows naman that we don’t have a car and that’s how we get around, either by bus or taxi. She didn’t have to give me that weird look.

